Couch to 5K to Half-Marathon: Giving it a Shot

In my insanity, I am going to try to join a friend of mine in a half-marathon in March. I haven’t run in two years, when I (slowly) did an 8 mile trail run. This is daunting. I’m 55, and gained back about 13 of the 30 pounds I lost last year. So I see that I have one of two choices: go back on that starvation diet I was on, or start working out every day. So I am going to pick the latter.

I don’t have a lot of time, I tell myself. Well, I have time to go home and read political or gossip blogs, so that isn’t technically true. I don’t have the money to join the Y or another club, I tell myself. Well, I do have a very nice bike and a good pair of running shoes. And I want to eat. So I am publicly stating here, today, that I start my training on Monday.

I am going to use the Robert Ullrey’s Couch to 5K program first, and then after that, move on to a half-marathon program. I expect to do this slowly. I am not doing it for speed, so many of my training runs will incorporate walk/run parts. I found that helped when I did my 8 mile run, and I was almost 20 pounds more, so I think that should work for that. Also, most of my training will be in the cool weather, which is good, since I don’t do well in the heat.

Here are Ullrey’s programs – he has one for several distances.

http://www.c25k.com/podcasts.htm

If that link isn’t working, you can download them on itunes and play right from there!

Wish me luck!!  I will keep you posted here, on this blog!

Leave a Reply

