How To Be Thrifty – Martha’s Rule # 3

Today we are going to talk about how to be thrifty, using the Thrifty Martha’s rules. This entails looking at money differently.

Some of my students were talking, and one of them said, “I work hard, and I feel that I deserve to buy myself something nice!” I totally related. I have been working since I’m 11 years old, and 43 years later, I feel that if I want to reward myself with something nice, I deserve it, and I’m going to buy it!!

Martha has taught me to change that thinking around.

She sees money in the bank as a reward. Your reward is that it makes you feel all warm and snuggly and safe. She sees putting money away the way you and I see spending it – as a reward for a job well done. For the past year, I have decided to give this a shot. I now try to keep at least $1000 in my savings account which for me, a huge spendthrift, is a major life change.

It works. Instead of going over to my closet to look at the $350 Frye boots I really loved but didn’t buy, I look at the pair I got for $39.99 (and I bought boots only because I really needed boots, not because I wanted them!!) and I look at my savings account and see the extra $310 dollars in there. It gives me a strange sense of comfort, to see that I have a bit of extra money in there for a rainy day. In fact, if something comes up and I have my balance go below $1000, I get a little resentful and worried. It’s amazing how much my perspective has changed in a year.

Money is definitely a head game. It is up to you how you want to play that game. For me now, I am getting a lot of pleasure out of seeing money in the bank, and not having to worry about overdraft fees and falling short each week. It is really a much less stressful, pleasurable way to live.

 

Leave a Reply

