“How To Be Offensive” – by Jennifer Lawrence “Slutty Power Lesbian”

images-1

America’s “Sweetheart” is at it again. Granted, the woman is generally harmless. She is attractive, may be a decent actress, although I don’t know because I’ve never been inclined to see her in anything, and seems like a decent person. But she is continually falling down, seems drunk in public a lot, and has diarrhea of the mouth: she just can’t seem to not say ridiculous things. And we are such a celebrity obsessed culture that we applaud the most vacuous things that come out of the mouths of famous people?

A few weeks ago she “jokingly” scolded a foreign reporter after winning a Golden Globe for her joyless movie, “Joy.” She called this man “Bro,” told him to put his phone down, and then cluelessly mocked him for mistaking the Globes for the Oscars when she was the one who misunderstood his very simple question. Is she unintelligent? I don’t think she is any kind of an intellect, but I don’t think she’s stupid. I think she was so busy being mean to the reporter, she didn’t process what he said. And of course, she is excused for this behavior because she’s “so funny and real!!!”

Another of the recent pearls of wisdom from JLaw, as she is affectionately known, include her view of herself as one who dresses as a “slutty power lesbian.” Clue applause, America, for her scintillating intellect and verbal acuity. But what the heck does that even mean?? “Slutty power lesbian”? I was told to simmer down on another site when I remarked that I believe what she said is offensive because “power lesbian” was on Sex and the City. OK, I didn’t know that. So? (She also borrowed a quote from Notting Hill and was applauded for her brilliance self-awareness. The bar is low for this woman.) But let’s analyze this, and see if what she said was self-aware, brilliant, PC or just plain offensive.

Slutty. Young women my daughter’s age who have self-pride and awareness hate this word almost as much as they hate “bitch.” Do NOT call a young woman a slut. And if someone calls herself “slutty,” does that make it easier for others to label her that way? I think it does. Being aware of the words you use when you are known to hundreds of millions, dare I say billions, of people on the globe, is just common sense. Which JLaw seems to be lacking in.

“Power lesbian”? Sex and the City aside, what does that mean? Is the lesbian powerful? As in “has power”? And what does being a lesbian have to do with that? Urban Dictionary says that a power lesbian is “A lesbian who has lots of money, possesions, and connections. A lesbian elitist. Usually only have lesbian affairs with other power lesbians.” OK, I get it now, a bit. But how do they dress? Like other lesbians? Like power straights? Do all lesbians dress alike? I get that she was trying to be funny/clever/smart, but I think she was just offensive. Would it be OK if she said she dresses like a “slutty power black woman” when she is not a black woman? How is it OK that she references being a lesbian, when she is not and implies that a group of lesbians all dress alike?

Here’s Jennifer Lawrence in a nutshell: “Oh, don’t mind me, I fall all of the time, I get drunk and puke often, I just puke often, I fart a lot, I’m so normal, I hate being a star, I’m a size 2 but I’m fat, I am anti-Hollywood, I won’t give in to the pressure to be thin, women should have equal pay, but I’m going to back off that statement so I don’t offend any men in Hollywood, I love to work with a director who abuses his actors, I eat junk food 24/7 cause I don’t care if I’m fat, I pee in sinks, I don’t wash my hands and they smell like your grandmother. Oh, and I puke, fart and dress like a slutty power lesbian.”

Crass, uneducated, loud, showy and offensive. If Anne Hathaway had said any of these things, people would have crucified her. I will never pay to watch one of this woman’s movies.

Leave a Reply

